402 GET fellowships at CPSP convocation


THE NATION, LAHORE, 05th NOVEMBER 2013:- A total of 402 candidates were awarded fellowships in 47th convocation of College of Physicians and Surgeons Pakistan.  National Assembly Speaker  Sardar Ayyaz Sadiq was the chief guest of the convocation.
According to a press release, the Speaker commended the CPSP for playing pivotal role by providing higher medical education in the country and said our specialists are the identification of Pakistan in the world. He admired the services rendered by the personnel related to medical profession during the epidemic of Dengue on the basis of his personal experience.
He said that a fellow of CPSP passes through different stages of tough structured training. “The numbers of doctors are far less than need of the country thus fellows of CPSP are at par with the best doctors of the world,” he said.
He congratulated the President, College Council and fellows of CPSP on attaining international recognition and repute. Prof Zafar Ullah Chaudhry, President, CPSP, in the welcome address threw light on the performance of CPSP which is providing specialists doctors in all disciplines of medical profession in the country. “College of awarding fellowship on sixty nine disciplines of medicine and surgery. More than 20,000 specialists of CPSP are serving the ailing humanity across the country. More than 17,000 trainee doctors are working under supervision of more than 2500 supervisors. CPSP is the only institution which is monitoring electronically its 17000 trainees through e-log system.
Keeping in view the international standard of CPSP, the European Business Assembly has nominated CPSP for the best award of Europe in higher medical education. The nomination of CPSP for this award is an honour for the country and its people,” he said.
On this occasion he congratulated four hundred new fellows and advised to spend their energy on the wellbeing of ailing humanity. Dr Swera Mansoor was awarded Gold Medal on her performance. The convocation was attended by all council members including Vice President, Prof Rizwan Azami, Prof Khalid Masood Gondal, DGIR, Prof Rizwana Chaudhry, Prof Muhammad Shoaib Shafi, Maj Gen Professor Salman Ali, heads of civil and military institution Maj Gen Waqar Ahmad, Maj Gen and other senior doctors.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s